Warmer weather

IMG_3934

The weather is making it feel like spring – the bulbs are out and it is so much warmer. I can’t wait to get in and have a look at how my bees have fared. I probably could have done a quick inspection on Saturday but didn’t really have time, and I did want to enjoy my first look. Last year was such a disappointment – I really hope this year will be better.

There’s a lot of pollen under the hive and I’m concerned that it is being knocked off the bees as they pass the mouse guard – so that has been removed and as the front of the hive seems to be covered with bees, I have also opened up the entrance.

Lesson to self: This year, have a clear plan before each inspection.

Leave a Reply

